Home Page
St Oswald's CE Primary School

Get In Touch

Home Page

St Oswald's CE Primary School

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Our School Governors


The main aims of a school Governor are to promote the welfare and development of the school, and to support the Head and Staff in the work they are doing. Governors help to represent the views and needs of the local community. At the same time they help to explain the aims, needs and problems of the school to the community and to the Local Authority, who are responsible for the needs of the school. Our governors are:


  • Rev'd Nigel Davies (Ex-Officio - Chair)
  • Gill White (Headteacher)
  • Romola Acland (Foundation Governor)
  • Deb Park (Parent Governor)
  • Jane Sharrock (Parent Governor)
  • Sue Gilchrist (Foundation Governor)
  • Christine Symons (Foundation Governor)
  • Tina Douglas (Foundation Governor)
  • Alison Blair (Foundation Governor)

The Governors work through a series of committees for the following areas of responsibility;


Curriculum, Standards and Staffing Committee – Sue Gilchrist, Rachel Forrest, Christine Symons, Alison Blair and Deb Park.

Premises, Safety and Finance Committee – Jane Sharrock, Romola Acland and Christine Greenfield.


Correspondence to the governors may be sent to the Clerk to the Governors, Miss. Jenny Harrison. (Whilst Jenny is on maternity leave and until further notice please contact Mrs Amanda Shaw using the school contact details)